The Graveyard

The Lair Of Gary James

The Zombiethon Round-Up – Part Three

Posted by BigWords on October 31, 2010

I didn’t make it to fifty films. That isn’t the biggest let-down of the week (you can make an educated guess regarding the previous post as to the nature of the week’s low point), yet the fact that I’ve sat through no less than forty odd films and a couple of television episodes regarding zombies has made me realize a few things. Firstly, I really, really want to be somewhere with an independent supply of water when the apocalypse falls. Can you imagine the smell of undead pieces of flesh hanging off your weaponry, compounded by the fact that no-one has had a shower in weeks? These are the types of questions which have been rattling around my head whilst the filmmakers intentions have been largely ignored. I’ve seen most of the decent films enough to know them off by heart, so the ruminations have been getting free reign.

Despite not setting out to expand my theories about survival post-civilization, there are good tips throughout zombie films, and even suggestions which could be put to use whilst the cities are still standing. Zombieland‘s cardio rule is a very pertinent one in a world where there are a lot of folks too fat to run from the undead. The walking banquets are, in a roundabout way, good for the long term survival of the human race, ’cause while the zombies are feasting on them the rest of us can run like our asses are on fire. And, while I’m thinking of food here (yeah, watching zombies do their stuff make me hungry) there needs to be enough food wherever I am at the beginning of the apocalypse, as there is no chance I’ll survive on junk food alone. Well, not for long anyways…

Even though it isn’t (yet) a required text on zombies, Dead Rising has a perfectly valid argument against trying to hook up with other survivors – there is nothing to say that everyone else hasn’t gone completely and utterly insane with the situation around them. These fuckwits (technical term) will most likely be the death of as many people as zombies, so it makes sense that everyone tries to avoid everyone else. Just in case. Adding to the reasons for avoiding other survivors is the fact that there is always one idiot who denies they have been bitten. Go watch the Dawn Of The Dead remake and you’ll see that even babies aren’t above suspicion… So yeah.

The list, for those of you wishing to replicate this “experiment”:

28 Days Later; 28 Weeks Later; 48 Weeks Later; AAH! Zombies!!; Apocalypse Of The Dead; Beyond Re-Animator; Bio Zombie; Day Of The Dead; Day Of The Dead; Day Of The Dead 2: Contagium; Dead Air; Dead Snow; Diary Of The Dead; Fido; The Ghost Galleon; The Horde; House Of The Dead; I Walked With A Zombie; I Was A Teenage Zombie; King Of The Zombies; The Living Dead At The Manchester Morgue; Living Dead Girl; Mutant; Night Of The Living Dead; Night Of The Living Dead; Night Of The Seagulls; Pet Sematary; The Plague Of The Zombies; Quarantine; Resident Evil; Resident Evil: Apocalypse; Return Of The Blind Dead; Shaun Of The Dead; Survival Of The Dead; Tombs Of The Blind Dead; Trailer Park Of Terror; Versus; White Zombie; Wicked Little Things; Zombie Bloodbath; Zombie Flesh Eaters; Zombieland; Zombies, Zombies, Zombies

There sometimes wasn’t time for me to watch full features, so I threw in a few episodes of Tales From The Crypt as well – the less said about the feature films the better. You may also want to check out a couple of first season episodes of Urban Gothic, which subverts zombies and necromancy seven different ways before the end credits roll. Oh, and while I remember about it – as my brain is quite likely to melt before the next election rolls around – all Brits reading this really need to reconsider their political allegiance when there exists a party which actually makes sense out there. Trust me… When the end of days comes, you will want to have the correct people in charge.

6 Responses to “The Zombiethon Round-Up – Part Three”

  1. I’m boggling at how many zombie films there actually are.

    My favourite, of course, even though I’ve only seen a handful, is Resident Evil.

    Reason? Purefoy. ❤

  2. bigwords88 said

    Go back and look at part two of the write-up for the Zombiethon, and try to imagine the very, very worst film you can – then times that feeling you get when you’re watching it by a thousand or so. That’s the sad truth for 99% of zombie films. And Resident Evil isn’t anywhere near as good as the games. 🙂

  3. I refute your argument by uttering the WORD OF POWER:

    “Purefoy.”

    That is all.

  4. bigwords88 said

    Really?

    And by the way, have I mentioned today- Nah, forget it. No point in fueling speculation any further…

  5. I love that you are doing this. It’s such a gloriously wacky thing to do! 🙂

    During my last WIP, to get into the horror mood- I dove into dozens of horror films, from old classics to modern films. From psychological horror to more outright gore (though I tend to dislike the latter). But I hadn’t thought of watching a very specific type, such as zombies.

  6. bigwords88 said

    If watching a bunch of zombie films is wacky, then listing every zombie book is probably a sign I need to be committed for my own safety…

    I love the idea of themed viewing, or reading, material, so the notion to do these things hits every so often. It’s not exactly rare that I become so engrossed in a specific topic (I went through damn near every western from the sixties and seventies a few years back) but this is the longest I have been so consumed with one subject.

Leave a Reply

 
