The Graveyard

The Lair Of Gary James

2009 – Awards (Part 2)

Posted by BigWords on December 25, 2009

MAG Poetry Prize

Thirteenth Birthday by Francesca McMahon

The Orwell Award

The NCTE George Orwell Award for Distinguished Contribution to Honesty and Clarity in Public Language 2009: Amy Goodman (co-founder / executive producer / host: Democracy Now (official release of winners)

The Orwell Prize

In association with The Orwell Trust, Political Quarterly and the Media Standards Trust

Books: Fishing in Utopia: Sweden and the Future That Disappeared by Andrew Brown (Granta) (link)
Journalism: Patrick Cockburn (The Independent; London Review of Books) (link)
Blogs: Jack Night for Nightjack, An English Detective

Poetry Foundation

Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize: Fanny Howe

Pulitzer Prize

Honoring excellence in journalism and the arts since 1917.

Biography / Autobiography: American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House by Jon Meacham
Breaking News Photography: Patrick Farrell for The Miami Herald
Breaking News Reporting: Staff of The New York Times
Commentary: Eugene Robinson of The Washington Post
Criticism: Holland Cotter of The New York Times
Drama: Ruined by Lynn Nottage
Editorial Cartooning: Stephen P. Breen for San Diego Union-Tribune
Editorial Writing: Mark Mahoney of The Post-Star, Glens Falls, NY
Explanatory Reporting: Bettina Boxall and Julie Cart of Los Angeles Times
Feature Photography: Damon Winter of The New York Times
Feature Writing: Lane DeGregory of St. Petersburg Times
Fiction: Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout (Random House)
General Non-Fiction: Slavery by Another Name: The Re-Enslavement of Black Americans from the Civil War to World War II by Douglas A. Blackmon (Doubleday)
History: The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family by Annette Gordon-Reed (W.W. Norton & Company)
International Reporting: Staff of The New York Times
Investigative Reporting: David Barstow of The New York Times
Local Reporting: Detroit Free Press Staff, and notably Jim Schaefer and M.L. Elric / Ryan Gabrielson and Paul Giblin of East Valley Tribune, Mesa, AZ
Music: Double Sextet by Steve Reich (Boosey & Hawkes)
National Reporting: Staff of St. Petersburg Times
Poetry: The Shadow Of Sirius by W.S. Merwin (Copper Canyon Press)
Public Service: Las Vegas Sun, and notably the courageous reporting by Alexandra Berzon

The Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award

Birth And Death by Carol Guzy (Washington Post)

SFPA Rhysling Award

Long: Search by Geoffrey A. Landis
Short: Song For An Ancient City by Amal El-Mohtar

The Society of Authors

The Betty Trask Prize And Award: The Wilderness by Samantha Harvey (Cape)
The Cholmondeley Awards: Bernard O’Donoghue / Alice Oswald / Fiona Sampson / Pauline Stainer
The Elizabeth Longford Prize: Florence Nightingale: The Woman And Her Legend by Mark Bostridge (Viking)
The Encore Award: Disquiet by Julia Leigh (Faber)
The Eric Gregory Awards:
The Patron Saint Of Schoolgirls by Liz Berry
The Stone Operation by James Brookes
Touchpaper The Night by Swithun Cooper
Joséphine’s Giraffe by Alex McRae
It Ain’t Honest by Sam Riviere
The McKitterick Prizee: Missy by Chris Hannan (Chatto)
The Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award: Ross Raisin
The Tom Gallon Trust Award: My Father’s Hands by Rosemary Mairs
The Somerset Maugham Award: The Broken Word by Adam Foulds (Cape)

Strokestown Poetry Prize

Awards announcement
English language poem: Padraig Rooney
Irish / Gaelic Poem: Pádraig Mac Fhearghusa
Percy French Prize: Sean Lyons
Schools Competition (Secondary): Emily Cooper, Convent of Mercy, Roscommon
Schools Competition (National): Amy Curley, Ballyleague, NS, Lanesboro

Struga Poetry Evenings Awards

Bridges of Struga Award: Ousmane Sarr-Sarrouss (Senegal)
Golden Wreath Award: Tomaž Šalamun (Slovenia)
The Miladinov Brothers Award: Vesna Acevska

Tezuka Osamu Bunkashō (Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize)

Grand Prize: Gekiga Hyōryū by Yoshihiro Tatsumi
Grand Prize: Ōoku: The Inner Chambers by Fumi Yoshinaga
New Artist Prize : Panorama-tō Kitan by Suehiro Maruo
Short Story Award: Saint Oniisan by Hikaru Nakamura

Okay, here’s the deal: I’ve spent a while searching through the websites which list awards. Having come across out of date pages, dead links, abandoned awards, and sites which are extremely user-unfriendly (it would help if there was a ‘home’ button on some) I’ve come to the conclusion that it would be easier to quit while I’m ahead. Feel free to add to this list below, with links to the appropriate award or to a notification of the win.

I was going to hold this back to complement the other end-of year list (which seems to be gathering more information on an hourly basis), but this was a much more complex preposition. Is there anyone else out there putting together a list of information for writers? C’mon, take this idea and run with it – there’s no way I’ll be able to get it up to scratch if I keep stumbling over the horrendous websites which hurt my eyes to look at…


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: