The Graveyard

The Lair Of Gary James

The Massive NaNoWriMo Meta-Meme Challenge

Posted by BigWords on November 8, 2009

“Cast Your Novel” – For Those Who ‘See The Words’

I threatened to do a NaNoWriMo Cast List over here, but now I have actually followed through on my threat, but (as always) I am taking this shit a little less seriously than absolutely everyone else. The basic problem with casting a film based on my WIP is that so many modern actors as so fucking uninspiring that I feel let down as soon as the production logo has vanished and the film begins in earnest. Modern directors (with a few exceptions) are also rather bland. Fuck ’em. I’m gonna cast my novel with some of my favorite actors.

Robert Mitchum as Detective Adway
Mitchum

Zero Mostel as Detective Connell
Mostel

Katharine Ross as Alison Torrance
Ross

Lee Marvin as The General
Marvin

The Sound Of Thunder – Music To Complete NaNoWriMo By

It seems that quite a few people have put up soundtracks for their novels. Neat idea, as it gives me the opportunity to be just as eclectic and obscure as I want to be – and you can’t complain, okay. My original notion was to include links to where you could listen to the songs for free, but that seems like way, waaay too much bother for something that is – in reality – a way for me to screw around for half an hour. Go find the tunes yourself if they sound interesting, I have a big ol’ novel to finish off here.

Fangoria – La Lengua Asesina
Fangoria – Bitchtime
Shoukichi Kina – Celebration
Shoukichi Kina – Jing Jing
Snuff – Arsehole
Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds – The Mercy Seat
The Prodigy – Narayan
Hi-Standard – California Dreaming
Me First And The Gimme Gimmes – Country Roads
Baken Beans – New Song Of Summer
G-Point Generation – We Are The Famous Five
Saint-Saëns – Danse Macabre
Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – Feast Of The Mau Mau
Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – Constipation Blues
Splodgnessabounds – Dangerous

…and enough Rammstein to send a sane man mad.

4 Responses to “The Massive NaNoWriMo Meta-Meme Challenge”

  1. ralfast said

    Oh, I done both, especially soundtracks for every novel. Can’t really write without them.

  2. Amanda said

    I am so proud of you! : -P Now admit it…it was fun, wasn’t it?

  3. bigwords88 said

    It was interesting… 😀

    One thing I realized when I was thinking seriously about the choices was the utter lack of current actors with whom I had even the slightest interest in. I’m not dissing the entire acting community, but 90% of the new stars are completely lacking in charisma or humor.

    I’ll save my pent-up rants for after NaNo though, ’cause I could be at this topic for a while…

  4. Amanda said

    No, I know. I’m not very impressed with the younger talent, either. That’s why I made the ‘looks only’ disclaimer. If I had to *truly* cast my wip, it would be really hard. I don’t even know who my Sarah selection is irl (I’d never heard of her before googling for that blog post), but she looked the part. lol

Leave a Reply

 
