The Graveyard

The Lair Of Gary James

Taking Chances Where I Can

Posted by BigWords on October 1, 2009

The problems with connectivity continue unabated, and I’m taking the opportunity while I can (and near a computer with net access) to post something here. I’m not sure if the problem is with the card, the stick or the software T-Mobile uses, but I have a cunning plan…

Turns out that it really, really, doesn’t like Vista. The solution I have come up with is to use XP, which means loading up the shiny laptop with the dreaded OS of Doom. Hell, I hate to do this but it seems the only way to get anywhere near normal web access. It’s a step backwards, and not one I’m entirely happy with but needs must…

This situation has made me think more of the grabbing-of-opportunities-when-they-arise. I don’t normally use other people’s computers for this blog (I’ve only done it once before) because using the internet of other people means I have to use their keyboards, and most people seem to have the most awful keyboards known to man.

I’ll try and get back to normal as soon as possible, but make no promises. There are only so many hours in the day, and I don’t really feel like spending too many hours with a problem easily remedied. Not gonna whine, not gonna whine, not gonna whine…

I noticed that the signal strength of the T-Mobile connection was 96% last night, yet it steadfastly refused to allow me to connect. Damnit, there’s money in my account and I want my internet…

Leave a Reply

 
