The Graveyard

The Lair Of Gary James

Building The Best Library

Posted by BigWords on September 18, 2009

There’s a big reshuffle going on here at the moment, with piles of books and stacks of boxes being shifted back and forth. In the midst of the chaos it became clear that there are serious gaps in my collection, so starting here I’m going to see what I need – with the assistance of anyone who wants to chime in with a recommendation. The first stack that came to hand was – not entirely surprisingly – computer books.

I have managed to get through quite a few of the …For Dummies books, and as useful as they are I guess I don’t react as well to the format as others. They feel like light reads despite their subject matter, and there are better books being published with computerly writings. For the record, the following are the ones I have held on to

Java For Dummies by Barry Burd (4th edition, 2006)
Windows Server 2008 For Dummies by Ed Tittel & Justin Koreic (2008)

No, I don’t have as much as a clue as to why those two in particular remain, the second especially so because I would rather poke my eyes out with a rusty spoon rather than use most Windows products, but remain they do. I must have read something in those books that I thought would make a good prompt, but for the life of me I can’t remember what made me refrain from handing them off to someone else.

The Ultimate HTML Reference by Ian Lloyd (SitePoint) covers code, so any other – similar – books aren’t necessary unless they offer something really different. What ‘something really different’ would be, I have no idea, but if there is something I should be reading then I’ll find out soon enough.

The bare bones ‘n’ facts are important, but context is king, right? History lessons:

A Brief History Of The Future by John Naughton
Being Digital by Nicholas Negroponte
Encyclopedia Of Cybercrime by Samuel C. McQuade, III
Free Culture by Lawrence Lessig
The Microsoft Way by Randall E. Stross

And that about covers the computing books. I know I’m missing some important texts, but that’s all there is at the moment. Fiction takes up a larger portion of my collection, so the non-fic grouping needs fleshed out with some good stuff. Any suggestions are welcome.

Note: I haven’t included the Photoshop books or gaming books, because they would really need sections of their own.

6 Responses to “Building The Best Library”

  1. Three Red Lights On Xbox 360 said

    Nice website, I was performing some internet browsing and happened onto your blog, I was pondering if you knew your website is rendering unusually within the K-mellon internet browser. I can see everything however the pictures are somehow out of wallop. In all probability not a huge issue since basically no one uses it any longer but I am old school and still run it.

  2. Where do you get all of your ideas from? I struggle to write once per week.

  3. bigwords88 said

    Insomnia, combined with a constant supply of cigarettes and coffee, seems to do the trick.

  4. Mikel Laver said

    and people trying to decide to become a writer.

  5. Reba McEntire said

    Blogroll links aint that great 😛 but i am not the admin� 😛 � Just Telling 😛

  6. bigwords88 said

    You want better links? Okay, how’s about:

    Project Gutenberg
    Project Gutenberg Australia

    See… I’m saving you ever having to needlessly pay for books again. 😀

Leave a Reply

 
