The Graveyard

The Lair Of Gary James

Watchmen 2

Posted by BigWords on September 12, 2009

The fact that Warner Bros. has the rights to make a sequel to Watchmen is interesting in many ways, but the problem of continuing the narrative in any meaningful way is a sticking point for anyone who loves the characters. I think that the film was great as it is, but if the need for a sequel is going to crop up in the near future then we shouldn’t expect much in the way of original thought. The startling and shocking revitalization of the superhero myth was Moore’s selling point, and anyone who tries to follow in that vein will fail.

I’m not sure I want to see a sequel, but if there’s gonna be one made, then it should use elements from the graphic novel to expand on the story rather than striking out in a new direction. A character study of The Comedian would be the first thing that comes to mind, and a Rambo-meets-Apocalypse Now deconstruction of the Vietnam war through his eyes would be the most interesting way in which a sequel could work.

Not that I would be 100% cool with the idea of a sequel.

But… If I was asked (which I can guarantee I won’t be) I would go for a simple war story. The horror of Batman & Robin looms large over superhero film sequels, and even the most die-hard fans will explain – often at length – how there is little point in flogging a dead franchise once the spark of originality has gone. It’s been a while since I thought about films which should be stopped in pre-production, but this is one I would gladly see burnt.

Zack Snyder is a brilliant director whose visual style is evident through Dawn Of The Dead to 300, and there are many other projects which would benefit from his guiding hand. He’s managed to achieve some truly jaw-dropping set-pieces with budgets that wouldn’t stretch to the catering demands of some big budget features. I really don’t want to see his name attached to something as shallow and money-led as a sequel to Watchmen.

If I have to start a letter-writing campaign then that’s what I’m gonna do.

NO TO WATCHMEN 2.

Leave a Reply

 
