The Graveyard

The Lair Of Gary James

A Few Passing Thoughts

Posted by BigWords on September 5, 2009

Because AW is unavailable at the minute due to maintenance, I’ve been looking elsewhere for my fix of writing-related goodness, and back to Project Gutenberg I go… Yet every time – every single time – I look through their library I get ideas. It really isn’t healthy to generate hundreds of possible stories without clearly setting limits to what I have time to write. Recently there have been a few people turning to fairy tales as a writing prompt, and I thought that brushing up on some wouldn’t be too inspirational.

I don’t write for younger audiences, so I don’t normally read children’s stories save for when I am trying to amuse my niece. The lure of writing a simple story has – unfortunately – had a very strange effect, combined with my normal reading material (New Scientist, tech manuals, horror mags, film stuff) to produce an idea which I couldn’t help but sketch notes on. The basic bones of the story is the familiar Puss In Boots, but with some twists and turns.

A while ago I pointed out the advancements in robotics, and the ideas are still bubbling away, so I thought it would be neat to substitute the talking animals for robots. Talking animals are a bit too “fairy tale” for my liking anyways (save for Krazy Kat), and robots are a fine alternative. With this change made the story felt more cyberpunk, so having the MC get advice to move up in society seemed a bit ridiculous. I needed something more hard-edged to give a better flow.

And the answer?

I’ve always liked movers and shakers to be a bit dark, especially in longer fiction, where shadowy activities can play out to their logical conclusion. Lex Luthor (one of the finest comic-book villains) is a perfect example of the Machiavellian meddler, or Nietzschian Übermensch, striding across politics and business as if the law does not apply to him… So that is what my cute little robot is going to be on the inside, manipulating the hero into numerous scrapes which will serve to show the reader the moral of the story.

Which is… Uh… Which is that (in fiction) power must be obtained by any means necessary.

As an Aesop it is maybe stretching my anarchic style a bit farther than normal… Or maybe not. Still, I have the feeling that turning childrens tales into Ayn Rand-esque power struggles is a quick road to eternal damnation. My idea for a rewrite of Cinderella is best left for another time, or I might get shit from Disney-lovin’ folks who don’t want the image of their princess running guns and drugs across the Mexican border for a crime cartel.

I really don’t need another work to add to my list, but this just popped up from nowhere.

This is why I spend so much time on forums – so I don’t get too many new ideas.

Leave a Reply

 
